Skip to content Skip to navigation

Stanford Women's Leadership Conference

The annual Stanford Women’s Leadership Conference (SWLC) is one of the longest running student-organized conferences on campus. It attracts hundreds of attendees, including current students, alumni and Stanford faculty. The conference celebrates women leaders around the world and provides Stanford women with actionable tools to enhance their leadership. The conference will leave participants inspired, motivated and with a renewed sense of how they can lead in their lives through a wealth of resources and support.

The 2016 Stanford Women's Leadership Conference will be on Saturday, April 2, 2016 in Stanford, California.


Click here for more information and to register for the 2016 Stanford Women's Leadership Conference.

Stanford Women's Leadership Conference logo

Past Conferences

The 2015 Stanford Women’s Leadership Conference, Still I Rise: Breaking Barriers, Building Change, took place on Saturday, April 4, 2015. Visit the conference website for more information.

Speakers at the 2015 conference included:

  • Persis Drell, 9th dean of Stanford's School of Engineering
  • Cecilia Chung, senior strategist of the Transgender Law Center
  • Jennifer Brody, professor and department chair of Theater and Performance Studies
  • Dereca Blackmon, director of Stanford's Diversity and First Generation Education and Training office
  • Nancy Milliken, M.D., associate dean of admissions at USCF Medical School, director of the UCSF National Center of Excellence in Women's Health
  • Farhana Huq, award-ainning social entrepreneur, executive coach, speaker
  • Ruthe Farmer, chief strategy officer for the National Center of Information and Technology 

Keynote speakers from past years have included Tani Gorre Cantil-Sakauye (28th chief justice of the State of California), Debora L. Spar (president of Barnard College), Ai-jen Poo (director of the National Domestic Workers Alliance), Kavita Ramdas (former CEO, Global Fund for Women), Kathy Levinson (former president, E*Trade), Priya Haji (founder, World of Good), Reem Rahim (founder, Numi Tea), Whitney Smith (founder, Girls for a Change), Victoria Hale (founder, OneWorld Health) and April Chou (founder, New Schools Venture Fund).

2014 Conference

2013 Conference